A little too late introduction?

I’ve been blogging here in WordPress for about six months now and I still feel like I haven’t introduced myself to all of you properly. Well, at first my plan is to be as mysterious as I can but what’s fun about that? So, I decided to talk about myself a little bit in this entry. Forgive me because I don’t really know how to start for I hate introducing myself to people. It’s my disease.

Anyway, here goes nothing…

10014642_10200922209096164_8876028834071570845_n

Hi! I’m Jean, a sixteen year old girl from the Philippines who currently studies BA Journalism. I started blogging mainly because I love writing but I’m not confident enough to let the people around me read it. So, I started posting poems and prose that I wrote under a pretend name and much to my surprise, I received likes and positive comments from all of you! (Thanks! β™₯)

Yes, I'm the one with the glasses. This is the reason why I hate wacky photos. Lol

Yes, I’m the one with the glasses. This is the reason why I hate wacky photos. Lol

I came from a big family. I have 2 sisters and a brother and I love them no matter how annoying they are. I am the youngest child and I know that a lot of people thinks that we have the easiest tasks at home but, no. My family loves ordering me around and I don’t know why. Maybe because they know I won’t refuse them. Well, I don’t refuse them sometimes. (A LOT of times.) But they still love ordering me around. Trust me, they don’t get tired.

One thing that is so obvious about me is the fact that I love books. Scratch that. I live forΒ books. I started reading Alice in Wonderland when I was six. And on my seventh birthday, I received books about Tom Sawyer, Aladdin and Rip Van Winkle. Then, Harry Potter got big and of course I became a Potterhead. (Who isn’t?!) I loved those books and they were the start of my unfathomable love for reading. Now, I’m in love with classical and YA novels.

PicMonkey Collage

Some photos of my books! πŸ™‚

Meanwhile, the thing that most people are surprised about me is that I listen to K-pop. Not just K-pop but Korean music altogether. It’s not a secret that a lot of people thinks K-pop is dancing and singing upbeat tunes while wearing crazy and colorful costumes but, it isn’t. There are various genres in Korean music and K-pop is just one of them. To be honest, I don’t like the upbeat pop tunes so much. Sure, I listen to them now and then but my real love is for alternative hip hop, rock, electronic, indie and R&B genres of Korean music. I also love sad and romantic soundtracks from Korean dramas and movies. (I watch them and variety shows, btw.) That’s what started my K-pop journey, actually.

Here’s my favorite Korean song as of now:

Speaking of music, I am also a big fan of YouTube artists like David Choi, Tyler Ward, Kina Grannis, Kurt Schneider, Sam Tsui, Alex Goot, Aj Rafael, Alex G, Tori Kelly and many more!

I love Asian YouTubers, too! From nigahiga, kevjumba and The Fu Music to YTF. I basically, live in YouTube. Lol.

I am also a fan of American and British TV shows. From The Vampire Diaries, The Walking Dead, Pretty Little Liars, Once Upon A Time, The Originals, The Big Bang Theory and Castle to Sherlock and Doctor Who. You name it! I am a fangirl to the core.

Damon and Alaric bromance. D'awww!

Damon and Alaric bromance. D’awww!

Of course, I also watch anime and read manga. Actually, my favorite past-time with my brother is watching Detective Conan. (We are currently in episode 394. I know. We are so slow.) But I only watch it once in a while. My first love will always be and forever will be reading.

tumblr_leknacfugq1qd5bkeo1_500

Writing is my sanity. I think it’s my only purpose in this world. That’s why no matter how stupid and impossible my family thinks my dream of becoming a novelist is, I am still not going to give up. Because if I stop writing, I will be just a body with an empty soul. I just don’t love writing, I live for it. I live because of it, even. Writing isn’t something I just do, it’s a part of me. So, I will never, ever give up.

Writing_Quote_8

I know that there’s still a long road ahead of me and that I’m just starting my own adventure but I am very grateful that I’m here and still battling with my demons.

I hope that all of you won’t get tired of my blog entries and I promise that I will write better poems and prose in the future. Also, thank you for your positive comments. It really means a lot to me. I love you all! *virtually hugs everyone*

-Jean.Β β™₯

 

11 thoughts on “A little too late introduction?

Leave a Reply

