Book Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

15749186Song for the day: TC and Sam Kang’s Kiss. ♥

Lara Jean have loved exactly five boys in her life and to each boy that she have loved, she dedicates a letter. To her, those letters are a way of saying goodbye because in those letters, she doesn’t hold anything back and once she finished writing them, she will no longer be consumed by her all consuming love. But one day, her teal hatbox goes missing and her letters got sent to the five boys she have ever loved.

 

Note: SPOILERS ALERT!!! 

 

Okay. *breathes* This.book.is.ADORABLE! Seriously, how did you manage to write a beautiful story out of a simple plot, Jenny Han? How?!

I admit that it wasn’t as good as the Burn for Burn series but who cares? This book made me laugh, smile, cry and squeal and that’s the important thing, right? Actually, I listed my top five squeal-worthy moments in this novel.

Here it goes:

5. The scene in the library wherein Peter K. rest his head on Lara Jean’s lap!!! I was so disappointed when NOTHING happened on that part. Lol.

4. The cupcake baking scene! This scene is overflowing with cuteness! It feels like they are newlyweds and Kitty is their adorable daughter.

3. The Peter Parker scene. Because, duh.

2. The I-kissed-you-because-Josh-might-be-looking-even-though-I-will-still-do-it-if-he’s-not-looking scene!

Aaaaaand….

1. “I think I like you, Lara Jean.” Ughhhhh. PETER K!!!!! I will give everything just to have someone like you in my life. Haha. But seriously, I was squealing like crazy in this part!

 

In case you are curious as to why I didn’t include the hot tub scene, I have only one answer: That scene is HOT. I didn’t squeal in that part because I was too busy screaming out loud. So there you go! The five most squeal-worthy moments in this novel. But of course, this review will not end here.

Moving on…

This novel somehow reminds me of Korean dramas. For example, the fake boyfriend and contract thing. If you’re an avid fan of Korean dramas, you will probably understand me. This ‘thing’ is so famous in dramas especially in Korean ones but Jenny Han managed to write it smoothly. (Another reason why I love her.) Also, it doesn’t have the annoying cliches that you’ll find in a K-drama.

Another thing that I love in this book is the characters. I know that some people think that Lara Jean is childish but I think it’s just appropriate for her age. Well, not too appropriate but enough. I like that her family is important to her and that she isn’t one of those typical High School characters who thinks about sex and making out too much. It’s also nice that I can relate to her and understand her in some ways and levels.

On the other hand, Peter Kavinsky’s character is all too old for me. Not that I’m complaining but, you know what I mean.

And Josh. I still have to make up my mind whether I like or hate him. Still, he’s a pleasant character.

What really made me act like a crazy old woman was the ending. Man, the ending. Endings are very important in books of every genre. It will determine whether the hours you spent reading was well spent or not. And Jenny Han ended this novel PERFECTLY. I still remember how my jaw ached because of smiling way too much after reading it.

And that’s it. I am officially in-love with Jenny Han and Peter Kavinsky. Although, I kind of hate myself for reading it already because I have to wait for a YEAR (Yes, a year!) in order to read the second book. Still, I REGRET NOTHING. (Lol joke. I really do regret reading it early.)

All in all, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before is a must-read for people who wants to spend their whole life loving a fictional character. And by that, I mean YOU. All of you.

 

P.S.

I acted extra crazy whenever Peter K. says Lara Jean’s name because I have the same name. (The ‘Jean’ part at least.) Yes, I am definitely insane.

 

My rating: 5/5 stars.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Leave a Reply

