To You

tumblr_m9u9dstVIE1qbbuybo1_500_large

I do not own the photo. All rights belong to its proper owner.

Note: I wrote this for our project in Interpersonal Communication last year.

* * *

Dear XX,

Rosie Dunne said, “Take a deep breath and start at the beginning.”

I wonder, what was our beginning? Was it the first time I noticed you? Was it the first time you talked to me? Or was it the first time we started telling each other our secrets?

Wait, do we even have a beginning?  Maybe we had. But everything is a blur now so I guess we will never know.

They used to call us “partners” which was very ironic considering how much we argued back then. Yet against all odds, we still became good friends and all was well.

Those times were bliss. Those were the days wherein I could freely talk to you about my problems or simply about my newest Korean crush. And in turn, you would let me listen to your latest music addiction and we would just…talk. Like there’s nothing between us. Like time doesn’t exist.

But because everything must come to an end, our friendship took a wrong turn and eventually reached this stage.

It’s been years since we last had a real conversation. I admit, I’ve missed it. You were the only one who could answer my sarcastic remarks, the only one who I could talk to for hours even though the topic is meaningless, and the only one who is ready to chat at three A.M. in the morning.

I just wish that there could have been a better ending for us. One that doesn’t require pretending that we don’t know each other when we accidentally meet. Nevertheless, I am still glad that we became friends and that I met you during the crucial time of figuring out myself.

I am pretty sure that you don’t know this and if you know, well do something about it. (Kidding.)

I like you. I like your goofy smile, your corny jokes, your glassy eyes, your stories—even the most cliché ones.

I like you even if you left me with innumerable what-ifs. Even if our friendship ended in a bittersweet way. Even if we weren’t able to utter proper goodbyes.

I like you. No sarcasm included.

Sincerely yours,

Y.

Leave a Reply

