Shattered Pieces of Me and You

011

Taken at Cavite, Philippines

All things broken are beautiful,

That’s what my mother said.

When I was five, I pretended to be sick

Closing my eyes, I begged for my temperature to rise.

 

All things broken are beautiful,

That’s what the writer said.

On my twelfth birthday, you told me I’m beautiful.

Biting my lips, I sent you my paper-wrapped heart.

 

All things broken are beautiful,

That’s what the song said.

You touched my hands like a fragile piece of glass.

Shaking my head, I sent you away…

 

For all things broken are beautiful

That’s what the universe told me.

But I’m only 18–already I’m lonely and scarred.

Spitting embers, I promised not to be beautiful again.

 

All things broken are beautiful,

That’s what I said when I first saw your crooked hands.

You roared with laughter and said, “It’s bullshit.”

Holding my hand, you showed me what beauty is.

 

All things broken are beautiful,

But beautiful things aren’t always broken.

That’s what your tattoo said.

Kissing it slowly, my scarred self felt beautiful again.

2 thoughts on “Shattered Pieces of Me and You

Leave a Reply

